My Body Strength Experience

I’m about 1 hour and 54 minutes AD (after death of Sylvia) at this point.

I had Body Strength on the schedule for today.  Body Strength is also better known as Les Mills Body Pump.

Body Strength (Pump) is basically torture, in a nut shell, and I LOVE it!  The instructor at my gym is intense.  I took Piloxing with her a while ago and I was pretty sure that I was going to die or that I would need to be removed from the workout room via stretcher.  I don’t know what possessed me to take the Body Strength class with her?  I chalk it up to the fact that Piloxing was a while ago and it’s kinda like childbirth.  You remember the pain but decide to do it again because you can’t quiet remember HOW bad it really was.  Out of body experience?

Body Strength is basically tons of repetitions of the same move, over and over and over, until your arms/legs/pick a body part, feel like they are going to fall off.  You perform the moves at regular reps, then you usually pulse them, and then you hold.  In short, you do squats (for example) at different speeds over and over and you’re holding a weight bar on your neck while you do it.  For the most part the moves are timed to music.  One song covers one area of your body…arms, shoulders, butt and thighs, etc.  My gym doesn’t follow the Body Pump structure exactly.  Maybe they don’t have the “rights” to do so?  I’m not sure, but the class is still pretty crazy.  I took Body Pump at 24 Hour Fitness before and the two classes are very similar, indeed.  Whatever!

My second workout was supposed to be C25k today but as you can imagine I had trouble walking to my car immediately following Body Strength so I chose to skip the run.  I’ll be heading to the dreadmill tomorrow to complete this weeks C25k…I’m ready to move on even if I didn’t complete all of the workouts this week.  I feel good!

I’m still debating about Friday’s workout.  I have an interview at 9am that day and Body Strength is at the same time.  I seriously considered going on Friday so I could continue to torture myself with that workout but the time slot is not working out for me.  There is a Kettle Bell/cardio class at 11am though.  Hmmmm.  Do I dare?

Leave a Reply

