Resolutions? Or Not?

I wish I was consistent with this blog!  It’s such a great tool and motivator for me.

20131230-121447.jpg

Seen at Knott’s Berry Farm.  I LOVE this!  I’m going to have to DIY myself a sign like this!

I’ve had quiet a few things happen in the last few weeks.  I came down with the stomach flu which SUCKED in a major way.  My Turbo Fire disks stopped working completely (they are scratched and freeze up).  I lost weight, probably because of the flu. Christmas.  And a change to my eating approach.  FYI – I’ll be posting separately about most of the above, this post is about resolutions.  There was other stuff too but I’m too lazy to address those things.  Ha!

Any who!

So here we are.  On the eve, eve of the new year.  Time to start making resolutions?  Although…I’m not much of a New Years day resolution maker.  I firmly believe that you can make resolutions anytime of the year, whenever you need to.  I myself make plenty of resolutions on a very consistent basis.  The trick is actually keeping them.  That’s were my strategy is lacking.  🙂

This year I’ve decided to follow the lead of the Hollywood Housewife.  I ran across HH’s post today entitled “make or break habits, my 2014 discipline challenge” (found at the link above).  Laura suggests making a new resolution every month for 2014. Little things that you can honestly conquer and that you need to make improvement on.  Lets face it, it’s fun and thrilling to make a resolution.  When they are fresh goals they seem so much more exciting, don’t they?  Laura lists a few ideas such as going on a social media break, no eating out, not uttering anything negative, etc.  For the month of January she is going on a spending freeze.  I need to go on a spending freeze too!  I have a bad habit of going to Target for toilet paper and coming home with makeup, a new toaster oven, and magazines because I tell myself that I “need” them.  Not!  I’m really digging the one goal a month idea but my hang up is that I’m seriously struggling with picking just ONE goal when it seems like I have so much more that I need to conquer.

20131230-121458.jpg

Yup!

This post has now taken me a good hour and a half to compose.  I’m wrestling with the “one goal” a month concept.  How do I give enough attention to ALL of my goals if I’m only focusing closely on one?  I’m so Type A that this is really hard for me to wrap my head around.  I’m almost in pain trying to come up with a strategy to cover all my bases.  I like to go full throttle, even if it means being overwhelmed and falling short.  2014 has to be the year that I learn how to make my big dreams more manageable and attainable!

Everything I’ve read and researched confirms that if you have a big end goal in mind your best approach is to break that big goal down into smaller, quickly achievable goals.  The thrill in attaining the small goals gives you that extra push to keep moving toward your ultimate goal.  Ex:  If you have 50 pounds to lose it’s better to attack that goal by breaking it down into 5 pound increments.  Every time you reach one of those increments you are one step closer to the end, giving you courage to keep going.  Broken down goals are less intimidating.  Or so they say.  Like I said above, I have a hard time accepting this way of approaching things.  I’m always looking toward the finish line!

Being the anal retentive that I am, I had to search the never ending web for some more inspiration regarding this “one goal” idea.  I ran across a blog post from last year that talks about having a word for the month.  I also found bloggers talking about creating 5 monthly goals in three different aspects of life.  Some people even talked about having a goal for Every. Freakin. Day.  What?  That’s just nuts!  I’m resourceful.  I’ll take an idea and morph it into something that will work for me.

Here is what I’ll be doing:

My idea is to select one general life goal, one health/eating goal, and one exercise goal for each month.  Phew!  Just typing that out completely brought relief to my anxiety.  Ha!  My general goals have a monthly time limit but my health and exercise goals will most likely carry forward each month as I’m working on them.  I’ll be brainstorming my monthly goals offline but plan on making them public at the beginning of each new month so that they hold some accountability.  Come back on January 1st to see what my goals are.  I’m excited to get started!

Will you be making monthly resolutions?  Do you make resolutions for the entire year?  Do they stick?

PS:  I have not read all the way through this article/blog but what I have read seems really interesting and helpful.  Check out the Refocuser for help in creating your own plan.

2 thoughts on “Resolutions? Or Not?

Leave a Reply

