Updates. Yes, Here We Are!

I’m still here!  You probably thought I fell of the wagon, right?

Anyway.  I’ve been doing really well in some of my goals and not so well in others.  I’ll start with the really ugly.  I canned the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred about 10 days ago and haven’t done any workouts since.  Womp, womp!  It is what it is.  I ended up getting really bored with the workouts and Jillian was getting on my last nerve.  Throughout the workout she has these stupid sayings that make me want to hurl.  I also can’t stand that she walks around during the workouts and then when it gets really tough she jumps in for 20 seconds and has the audacity to say “we are right here doing it with you”.  Um, no!  You’ve been walking around for the last 15 minutes, don’t tell me you have been doing the workout “with me”.  Hahahahaha.  At first I was upset that I didn’t stick with it but to be honest, I don’t even care anymore.  I was able to meet up with my sister yesterday and I borrowed her set of Turbo Fire disks.  Chalene Johnson actually does the workouts “with you” and they are different everyday.  Hopefully I won’t burn out on those.  I’ll start today and if I can handle it I will do todays and yesterdays workouts.  I’m tempted to say that I’ll start TF on the first of next month (because I have this weird thing about calendars and tracking) but I know that if I don’t start now, I may never. Anywho, TF is 12 weeks, 6 times a week.  It’s a bit ambitious for my lazy arse but I did alright with it last time before my disks started acting nuts (better than with Jillian) so we’ll see where it goes.

My spending freeze is going great in my humble opinion.  I only bought a lipstick and a $2 eyeshadow the other day.  Then I saw this great dress at Wally World that was $15 and I had to get it.  If you don’t jump on great items at Wally World they are NOT there the next time you go to find them.  So, I consider the freeze to be going well.  I’ve spent a total of about $25 since the first of the month. I consider that a win!

My final and probably most important goal for the month was to track everything I’m eating with WW.  I’ve done really well with this and surprise even myself.  Out of the last 21 days there have been 3-4 times where I have “ignored” my food intake.  I didn’t track 2 of my dinners, recently.  And I might have done some late night snacking to which I said “oops, lets not talk about that”. I’m beyond proud of what I’ve accomplished in the eating department.  I really have come a long way…seriously!  I’m noticing that fruits and vegetables are keeping me on track.  I try to load my plate and snacks with them to keep me full.  I’m also finding that even if I do have some slip up, on weeks where I include more fruits and veggies, the weight seems to come off a little easier.  A goal that has spanned out of this months goal is to always have the right foods on hand.  Bonus:  My picky kids are eating more fruits and veggies as well.   Yay!

That brings me to my weight loss update.  I feel like I have been on Weight Watchers for.ever. when in reality I’m a day shy of completing my first month.  I have slowed down and really considered the process.  What I have learned is that one bad meal does not define everything else.  I’ve changed my all or nothing mentality and I’ve learned that I can have a slip up and get right back to it the next meal.  This used to be completely different.  If I had one slip up, I’d throw in the towel.  If I didn’t lose what I wanted to lose at weigh in I got mopey and gave up.  Like I have said before, that’s just not an option anymore.  Baby steps!  I’m going to keep putting one foot in front of the other.

Since starting WW on 12/22 here are the stats:

12/29: no loss

1/5: -2 lbs

1/12: +0.8

1/19: -1.4

Total 4 week loss:  -2.6

It’s moving slower than molasses but at least it’s moving!  Not to make excuses but my official WW start date was preceded by about a 4 pound loss in a week (remember, I had the stomach flu!) and I’ve kept that off and subtracted a little more.  So, if I was going to be really nit picky I could say that I lost about 6.5 pounds in 5 weeks.  I’ll take that and keep moving forward.

Next up is a big mile stone for me.  I’ve been teetering at a particular weight for YEARS and have not been able to break down below that for long.  I’m about 3 pounds away from the lowest weight I have seen in…shoot….probably 7 years.  I got down to that magic number about 6 months ago but quickly sprang back up.  This time I’m going to get down to that number and then I’m going to keep going down from that number.  I don’t plan on springing back up (I’m talking a 10 pound spring) like I have done in the past.  In a way this gives me serious doubts and anxiety.  I’m starting to think that maybe I’m not meant to go lower than my lowest number but deep down I know that’s just bull crap and excuses.  Time to change my mindset and make it happen!

I’m off to get a Turbo Fire workout in.  Wish me luck.  😉

PS:  The worst thing you can do is to GIVE UP. No matter what, just keep trying and move forward.  Changing the past is impossible.  You can only look to the future!

3 thoughts on “Updates. Yes, Here We Are!

Leave a Reply

