Running, Again?

I’m going to attempt a more consistent blogging schedule.  In order to do that I probably need to have something more consistent to write about.  Right?

After posting my problems (again) yesterday I started to slowly realize that my fate is completely in my hands.  It wasn’t a new revelation, it’s just something I seemed to have forgotten about.  Isn’t it a blessing as well as a curse that everything in your life is controlled by you and you alone?  Sometimes I would rather have “Jesus take the wheel” and quit everything all together.  Throw my hands up and announce to everyone and everything that in fact “fuck this shit” sounds about right and nothing else will do.  It’s a pipe dream but one can have fantasies anyway.  Yes?

All of that said, I spent the rest of the day yesterday (before I had to go to work anyway…have I told you how I hate my new schedule?) getting organized.  My OCD took over and I couldn’t rest until I had everything figured out in regards to my workout plans.

I dug up this exercise folder I made a while back….

photo2

In it I have a weight loss journal to track progress, a motivational reminder, and my holy grail calendar.

photo4 photo3photo1 

I have a type A personality and putting things together like this gives me so much joy and more importantly a sense of control. Many people use their phones to organize themselves, and I do too for some things, but for this particular aspect I love to see pretty and organized papers.  Swoon!  Ha.

As I was doing all of this I remembered, quite hesitantly, that I had a deferred race entry from last year.  I had signed up for the Surf City 10K in Huntington Beach, CA but ended up asking for a deferral because of training issues.  I was bummed to withdraw but also kinda glad. It would have been my first 10K and I was no where near ready to do it.  I was scared to even try for it.  I couldn’t wrap my head around actually completing the race successfully which is really sad.  Any thoughts I had regarding the race where negative and I couldn’t muster up the courage to change that mindset.

Any who, fast forward to yesterday.  I found the deferral email that I was supposed to keep, checked the website to see if registration was open, and then emailed the event organizers to get my code.  They emailed me back pretty quickly and directed me to their website with a link.  The link brought me to the Surf City Marathon and Half Marathon site not the 5K, 10K, 10 Miler one.  I paused for a second contemplating my options.  Then I started thinking that I had always had the half marathon option in the back of my mind.  The date looked good, being almost a year out, and I started to TALK MYSELF INTO IT!  WHAT?  I entered my info and hit submit.  I’m officially registered for my first half marathon on Sunday, February 1, 2015.

So after all of that I HAD to get my shit together.  For sure!

I sat down and planned out my workout schedule for the next few months.  It’s going to be intense and I’m apprehensive and nervous about how I’m going to get this done.  My track record for completing workouty things isn’t good, as you know, but I’m doing myself a disservice if I don’t decide to at least try…again.

You can see in the above pic the start of my half training.  Just for shits and giggles, here is what I want to do in regards to training (there goes my OCD again…I can’t leave it without writing it down here!):

  • Officially back to Turbo Fire on March 30th.  I’m starting again with week 1.
  • When I hit week 16 of Turbo Fire, I’ll add on C25K.  This will be July 13th.
  • Turbo Fire is complete the week of August 10th.  Pray that I make it!
  • C25K is complete the week of August 31st.
  • I’m going to find a 5k for September 6th or 7th.  Following the 5K I’ll work on timed runs for a week and see how far I get.
  • September 14th is my first week of Half Training.  I decided to use the Jeff Galloway method since I have heard many good things (he is the official face of the Disneyland Tinkerbell Half training program) plus I already have the app.  The program runs for 19 weeks which will give me a week of taper before the big dance.
  • Race day on February 1st.

Man…that sounds scary and hard and like something I really don’t want to do.  *Slap*  Am I seriously complaining already?  Why, yes, I am!  I need to stop with the negative self talk and just get my ass in gear.  I’m waiting with baited breath for March 3oth. The next week is going to be dedicated to getting my nutrition and general mind set under control.  I’ll probably be reading a bunch of advice magazines and books as well.

Lets do it!

Gratitude Journal for March 21, 2014:  Today I’m thankful for the ability to make up my own mind. I’m thankful that I live in a country where women can do what they want to do. The sky is the limit if you put your all into it.

3 thoughts on “Running, Again?

Leave a Reply

