Taking It Into My Own Hands

So I got a call today from the endoscopy place regarding my scope appointment for next Monday.  I was told that I would have a $250 co-pay to get the scope done.  This would be fine and dandy if I could be guaranteed some results following the scope.  Unfortunately the track record with conventional medical care has been nothing but crap.  And I’m not just talking about the care during this whole h. pylori nightmare.

I’ve done three rounds of antibiotics at 14 days each.  Each round included 2 antibiotics and an acid reducer.  I’ve tried so many different antibiotics that I’m pretty sure I shouldn’t have any bacteria, healthy or not, left in my system.  Unfortunately each round of antibiotics did nothing but make me feel more sick.  I’m so tired!!  I can’t do another round of anything at this point.  The $250 “co-pay” is also a huge deterrent for me.  Are they going to come back and just confirm that I have h. pylori…still?  Are they going to confirm an ulcer?  I can pretty much guarantee that I can self diagnose both of those issues without paying the exorbitant amount of cash to do it.

Needless to say, my scope appointment is cancelled.  I spend this morning and early afternoon doing some research on my own. Come to find out that I’m not the only one dealing with a reoccurring h. pylori infection.  There is a huge amount of information out on the world wide web and I’m ready to try some of the suggestions.

From what I can gather, there is a magical supplement called mastic gum.  There has been research done by the New England Journal of Medicine which favorably looks at mastic gum as a “killer” of h. pylori bacteria.  Hey…that sounds like a good enough idea to me! I’m going to hit up my local health food store tomorrow to stock up on the magical stuff.  I just pray that I don’t have to order the stuff online if it’s not available in store, I want to get going on the dosages, the last round of antibiotics really did a number on my tummy.  I also found promising info on Apple Cider Vinegar, Maruka Honey, coconut oil and probiotics.  Those are all going home with me tomorrow and I’m going to start pumping myself full of that stuff until I feel better.  Word!

While I was researching my #1 public enemy I also decided to look at some info regarding my back pain and groin/hip issues.  I want to start C25K and train for that half marathon without major problems.  Up until today, nothing my conventional doctors suggested has helped.  Physical therapy made things worse (breaking up scar tissue…no thanks!).  Pain meds just make me tired and groggy. Hell…the orthopedic surgeon can’t even diagnose an actual problem after x-rays and MRI’s, he just wants to send me for cortisone shots.  For what, to treat something that hasn’t been positively identified?  I took to Google again and have come to the conclusion that I probably have a groin strain that keeps re-aggravating itself.  My adductors are all fucked up!

One thing the ortho doc did say is that I have bulging disk in my lower back.  I can’t remember the exact location for that,  I’m thinking it’s either an L3, L4, or L5.

Hey…would you look at that…a bulging disk in the lumbar area could also be related to leg issues.  Fancy that!

As I looked at groin treatments a little closer I found really promising info on chiropractic care.  I’ve always thought of chiropractors as crackerpracters (fun little analogy a friend once told me) ;).  Since my back has been having issues it could be that the whole thing is tied together.  When I stand in what I believe to be a good position with good posture you can visibly see that my left shoulder hangs lower than the other.  My sister has been diagnosed with mild scoliosis.  PT told me that they could see my hips were visibly “off”.  I favor my right side when walking/running and I notice my left food turns in a bit more than it should.  I also found my baby records and from what I can ascertain (the records are in German) I had mild club foot as an infant (hello Forest!).  To top it off, I deal with massive migraines which could also be related to back issues.  Moral of the story, I believe that all of the things I’m dealing with have validity and are somehow related.

Since I freed up my calendar for Monday I went straight to work looking for a chiropractor.  I found one close to home that has had a practice in my area for the last 20 years.  Nothing but excellent testimonials as well.  Plus the office has a massage therapist and acupuncturist in house.  SOLD for a $15 co-pay.  I’ll be going in for a new patient consultation this coming Monday.

I’m not saying that the plans I have made moving forward are going to cure me of all my ailments.  I don’t know that they will, but I’m at my wits end and ready to try something different.  I’m also feeling good about the direction I’m moving in.  I learned so much researching my issues this morning and I feel a whole lot more educated.  I’m done letting doctors tell me what they “think” I should do. It’s time to take it into my own hands!

Gratitude Journal:  I’m proud that I’m smart enough to know when enough is enough.  I’m grateful for the ability to research and find my own answers.  It took me a while to finally say that I’m not going to just “go along for the ride” anymore.  If something doesn’t work, it’s up to me to figure out a different path.  And that is true for all aspects in life.

What it really comes down to is that I have lived in my own body for the last 37 years.  Tuning in to what I believe is happening is more important than what a doctor that looks at me for 10 minutes believes.  I have had other instances in my past medical history were I was misdiagnosed over and over.  When I voiced my own opinion I was dismissed only to discover later that I had been right all along.

I’m so DONE!  If I tell a doctor my concerns and they are dismissed, I’m going to change doctors.  I’m not going to just accept what doctors tell me anymore.  You have to be your own best advocate!

 

One thought on “Taking It Into My Own Hands

Leave a Reply

