The Chiropractor

I’m in love!!!

I went to the chiropractor today and I felt instantly at ease.  Every person in that office is friendly and knows what they are talking about.  I got there and filled out a bunch of paperwork, the usual.  Then I was given a tour of the office (never before have I been given an office tour…I usually can’t find my way out of doctors offices let alone know where all the treatment rooms are).  I was then seated in the consultation room and waited a bit for the chiropractor to come in.

When he came in, I instantly fell in love.  Ha!  He asked what was going on, listened to what I had to say, and gave me some possible explanations for all of the pain and discomfort.  He then called the imaging center for my MRI’s so he could see what has been going on.  I didn’t know much more than “I have a slightly bulging disk in my lumbar area”.  The orthopedic didn’t explain much more than that. After the preliminary stuff I did some toe touching and trunk twisting.  The chiropractor told me he could see that my issue was most likely muscle tightness in my back.  My one side is much more flexible than the other.  He also said that the issue with my back was translating into my whole body favoring one side over the other and that was causing me to over compensate.  When I did some “straight standing” exercises it was obvious that my left side hangs lower than the right.  Stuff I could have told you (and have told other doctors) without an expert opinion.  Finally he told me that he thinks that my hip issue is probably an inflamed bursa. With my body overcompensating on one side, it is pulling everything off center.  When my muscles try to glide over my left hip, they are getting hung up on my bursa “cushion” and irritating it.  I didn’t really consider an inflamed bursa but the rest sounds like my exact diagnosis of myself.  Pass me my PhD degree!

Another fun fact:  Last night I was stretching and doing some child’s pose and all that because I didn’t want to get too sore after my wog.  After I was done, I started having this really dull pain in my left shoulder joint.  When I woke up this morning, I couldn’t raise my arm above my head.  WTF!!!  I swear…after I turned 30 everything just started going to hell.  How could stretching even cause all of that?  I don’t know.  Any way, I mentioned it to the chiropractor and he added treatment for the sore shoulder even though I was just there for my back/hip.  I love him!

While we waited for my MRI results to be faxed over I got started on cold laser therapy for my shoulder.  It literally took less than five minutes and now, 3 hours later, the pain in my shoulder is almost completely gone.  I need one of those lasers for my house.  I’d be lasering myself non stop.  😉  After the cold laser I was put on electrical muscle stimulation for my back and hip.  I had that before during PT but hey, why not try again?  After those treatments I was put in an exam room and waited for the MRI results to get there.

As soon as the results came in the chiropractor discussed them with me more thoroughly than the orthopedic surgeon ever did.  He told me that my hip joint was healthy but that the MRI did not rule out a possible labrum tear (something ortho was checking for) and that another test was recommended.  I was never told to go for an additional test to rule out additional injury.  Hmmmm….I guess the shooting pain in my hip/groin is just supposed to be fun?  I guess the pop I heard in my nether regions when I stepped off the parking lot curb was proly just my imagination? I imagine if I do have a tear in my labrum (funny word) that it would also be related to the whole “off to one side compensating” thing. Makes sense to me!!

We also discussed the bulging disk in my back.  He told me that at the time of the MRI the disk was not pinching anything but that the report said it wouldn’t rule out pinched nerves during activity or in a standing position.  The chiro said that I could be agitating the existing issue when I run or do extended walking.  Would explain the pain after a full day of being on my feet.

Mini Rant:  Thanks ortho!  You did an awesome job of telling me nothing!  Just send me for cortisone shots….that should do it.  I don’t know about you, but I’d like to be informed about my health issues a little more in detail.  Don’t write me off as dumb or that I wouldn’t be able to grasp what you are trying to explain.  I want to know what my issues are!

After finally being given the low down of what the MRI report revealed, I was even more glad that I chose to visit with this particular chiropractor.  He seems knowledgeable and thorough.  I loved how he explained every little detail to me and I felt comfortable being there.  I was always led to believe that chiropractic care wasn’t REAL medical care.  At this point I really don’t give a shit.  If this is going to help with my pain and other issues I’m going to do it regardless if it’s considered REAL or not.

In the end I kept wondering when I was going to have an “adjustment” and apparently that is the final step in the whole thing.  Since the main issue seems to be my lower back, I was told to lay on the table on my side.  I was then folded into an Aunty Anne pretzel configuration (and even told the chiro that I felt like a pretzel) right before he cracked my back.  I actually yelled when he pushed down and my vertebrae snapped, crackle, popped like some Rice Crispies.  I heard the whole thing and felt it too.  It was funny and embarrassing at the same time.  Hey..I didn’t mean to yell but I didn’t have any warning and it threw me off for a second.  I got up from that table feeling like a million dollars.  I was asked when my next wog was scheduled and I told him that it was on Wednesday. He told me to go ahead and do the workout if I felt good and that he would like to see me later in the day on Wednesday for additional treatment.  You can bet I’ll be there Doc!  😉

Gratitude Journal:  Women’s intuition.  I had a feeling all along that cortisone shots would not be a final repair for my issues.  I knew that they were just a band aid for an underlying problem.  I am not healed in any way, shape or form but I do have a more clear picture and logical information as to what is going on.  I’m glad I didn’t take the first suggestion as an answer!

One thought on “The Chiropractor

Leave a Reply

