Eating Low Carb and No Sugar

I’ve been pretty busy trying to keep myself in check the last week or so.  I’m trying hard to take care of myself and still take care of everyone else too.  Everyone is so demanding, sheesh!  Finding a good balance is probably the most difficult part about all of this. I’m not just responsible for myself, there are others involved, BUT, I’m doing the best that I can because that’s all you can really do. Right?

I recently ran across a FREE Atkins kit offer.  If you know me, you know that FREE is THE magic word.  I ordered the little kit thinking that I would have a few protein bars to try out and then I’d move on.  When I got the kit it included a booklet that broke down Atkins into little pieces and what I read sounded easy enough.  Then I tried the Atkins bars that were in the kit and they were actually good. That’s how they get ya, they give you a few good bars to try and then you want to go back for more because the whole thing sounds so enticing.

The last time I heard about Atkins (at least 7-8 years ago) it sounded like it was in no way something I would want to try.  The person I spoke to about it was losing tons of weight in a short amount of time but they also claimed that they were basically just eating red meat and bacon.  No thanks!  I didn’t really look any more into it because that sounded ridiculous to me (I don’t even know if they were doing it right?) and I never gave it a second thought.  Then I get this kit and things kinda changed for me.  After reading through the info I realized that Atkins was leaning more toward the South Beach Diet phases.  Interesting!

Atkins is still very strict in carb and sugar restriction.  Yes, they suggest eating foods without regard to calorie or fat content from what I can gather.  The main concept is to keep your net carb intake to 20 grams a day.  I’m a carbaholic and this is mind blowing for me.  I was hesitant but I’m constantly stalling on weight loss when I calorie count so I was eager to give Atkins a try.

Any who, here we are and I’m on day four of no carbs, no sugar.

20140412-221449.jpg

20140412-221502.jpg

20140412-221510.jpg

 

Some of my recent food adventures

I’m noticing that my tummy is getting a little flatter.  My tummy is definitely my problem area so that makes me really happy. Being carb and sugar free is NOT easy in any way, shape or form but I’ve kinda found a mantra that I repeat to myself when I want to eat that baguette (yea…a whole baguette sounds good) or a pizza pie.  I just tell myself “do you really think that food is going to make you feel better about the way you look…is it really going to get you where you want to be?  Make a choice!”.  It’s kinda working!

One thing I have noticed though is that I’m really tired.  More so than usual.  I don’t know if that’s because I’m fighting a cold or something or if my body is trying to figure out how to run without carbs and sugar?  My week 2, day 2 run this past Friday was extremely difficult.  From the get go I could hardly get my body to move.  I just felt really sluggish.  It could also have been a bad run day.  Those definitely exist and I remember them from the last time I was running on the regular, but I’m really wondering if my carb loving system is in shock.  It’s possible, isn’t it?  I ordered some of these Nuun Energy tablets.  Can’t wait to try them out…and they are low carb.  Woot!

I’ll be completing week 2 of C25K tomorrow morning (Sunday) and we will see how that goes.  I’m hoping to finish the week strong but I’m not sure how that’s going to pan out.  I hope that I have a good workout, I need it to be good to keep me going (both in my workouts and in my eating).

20140412-221526.jpg

I’ll leave you with a pic of my fig tree.  The fruits should be ready soon!  I just need to get to them before the crows do.  Pretty, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

